Toddlers ( age group 1.5yrs -2.5yrs )

Pre-K ( age group 2.5yrs -3.5yrs )

K-1 ( age group 3.5yrs -4.5yrs )

K-2 ( age group 4.5yrs -5.5yrs )

At Little Buddy Kindergarten we follow the EYFS Framework, thereby adopting a curriculum which provides children with the best possible start to their schooling. The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children's 'school readiness' and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.

The EYFS seeks to provide :

  • High standards for the Learning, Development and Care of the children, ensuring that every child makes progress and that no child gets left behind.
  • Equality of Opportunity and Anti-Discriminatory practice, ensuring that every child is included and supported.
  • Creating a Partnership between Parents and School in which regular communication and mutual support is fundamental.
  • A Secure Foundation through Learning and Development Opportunities which are planned around the needs and interests of each individual child and are assessed and reviewed regularly.

From the child's perspective a curriculum such as this should be full of real-life, concrete experiences. Children will often be informally consulted about their learning environments and learning opportunities - we will always endeavour to follow their interests to ensure planned activities and themes are motivating for them.

The EYFS Learning and Development requirements comprise :

  • the Seven Areas of Learning and Development and the Educational Programmes
  • the Early Learning Goals, which summarise the knowledge, skills and understanding that all young children should have gained by the end of the Preschool year
  • the Assessment Requirements (when and how practitioners must assess children's achievements, and when and how they should discuss children's progress with parents and/or carers

Children will learn Skills, Acquire New Knowledge and demonstrate their understanding through 7 areas of Learning and Development.

Children should mostly develop the 3 Prime areas first. These are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development.

These prime areas are those most essential for a child's healthy development and future learning.



As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 Specific Areas.These are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design.

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside. It is very important that they develop social skills, such as turn-taking, sharing and independence, which help them greatly in the next stages of their learning. The guiding principles that shape our practice in the Early Years are that children are born ready, able and eager to learn. They actively reach out to interact with other people, and in the world around them.

Phonics teaching and learning are a key part of the Foundation Stage and help to develop early reading and writing skills. We have a range of activities taking place such as role-play, practical games, painting, cutting and sticking and reading in the book corner. The outdoor classroom in operation has equipment such as tricycles, ride ons, water and a range of activities like dramatic play, exploration, problem solving etc.

Children work and play independently, with a strong emphasis on choice and being able to sustain concentration on projects, as well as joining a variety of teacher-led activities. We strongly encourage a partnership with parents, so they are actively involved in their children's learning.